Haridwar is district of Uttarakhand state in India. Haridwar contains two words Hari and Dwar. Hari means god and Dwar means gate. Haridwar means gateway to the god. There are four holy temples Gangotri, Yamunotri, Kedarnath and Badrinath on the hills also known as chardham. Haridwar is like a entry point to these chardham. People visit Haridwar before visiting these temples so the town was became famous as Haridwar..Haridwar is the place where people from across the India visit for pilgrimage and to take a holy dip into the holy river Ganges. Haridwar City is an ancient and it is one of the most sacred cities in India.

best places to visit in Haridwar-Rishikesh

Har Ki Pauri

Har Ki Pauri is a major landmark place and a famous ghat on the banks of river Ganga in Haridwar. A center place of attraction among devotees in Haridwar . Har Ki Pauri is believed to be the place of exit of holy river Ganga from the mountains.

Chandi Devi Temple

The temple is dedicated to Chandi Devi, a form of the Hindu deity Durga. The Chandi Devi Temple is one of the most ancient temples in India and attracts thousands of pilgrims during the festivals of Navratra and the Kumbha Mela.

Mansa Devi Temple

Mansa Devi Temple is one of the most revered temple of Goddess Mansa Devi located at Bilwa Parvat near Haridwar. This temple is a holy place to worship Goddess Mansa, who is believed to be a from of shakti, emerged from the mind of great Sage Kashyap. Mansa Devi Temple is a famous Siddhpeeth and offers panoramic views of Haridwar city.

Maya Devi Temple

Maya Devi Temple is a popular ancient temple in Haridwar and one of Siddh Peeth located in Uttarakhand. Goddess Maya, who is believed to be an incarnation of Goddess Shakti, is the deity of Maya Devi Temple.Maya Devi Temple also completes the trio of Siddh Peeths in Haridwar.

Ram Jhula

Ram Jhula is an iron suspension bridge across the river Ganges, located 3 kilometers north-east from the town Rishikesh . The bridge connects the Sivananda Nagar area of Muni Ki Reti in Tehri Garhwal district to Swargashram in Pauri Garhwal district crossing the river from west to east. Built in the year 1986, the bridge is one of the iconic landmarks of Rishikesh.

Lakshamana Jhula

Built in 1939, Laxman or Lakshamana Jhula is a suspension bridge in Rishikesh With a length of 450 feet and at a height of around 70 feet from the river. According to Hindu mythology, this bridge is built in the same place, where Lakshamana once crossed the river Ganges on a jute rope, thus making this another important pilgrim attraction.